View Full Version : John Wayne Stuff On eBay
wbbison March 19th, 2008, 06:13 AM I am somewhat mystified by eBay. In Mugs with John Wayne called for, they are showing a coffee mug, glass that was owned by John Wayne. They have an COA but the COA is a created by the auctioner. Is this for real or what?
wbbison
DukePilgrim March 19th, 2008, 06:53 AM Are these mugs owned by John Wayne or cast and crew mugs as discussed in this thread.
http://www.dukewayne.com/showthread.php?t=3482&highlight=john+Wayne+mugs
Mike
wbbison March 19th, 2008, 07:17 AM Mike:
It is a mug that was owned (?) by John Wayne. I just questioning that the COA is legit. I am seeing COA all over eBay with John Wayne on them.
wbbison
DukePilgrim March 19th, 2008, 08:03 AM I take it COA is certificate of authenticity. This could be a letter headed certificate from a company or a hand written/typed bit of paper. There was a dealer selling items allegedly from John Wayne movies such as coffee pots or frying pans from The Horse Soldiers.
If I remember correctly they were all offered with a COA which is basically the seller making a declaration that this item was used, owned ,in the general facinity of the star in question.
Ask seller what is meant by COA and see what he/she says.
Mike
SXViper March 19th, 2008, 01:05 PM If you look somone is selling the outfits from She Wore a Yellow Ribbon and Fort Apache that Duke wore. I think there is also a outfit of one of the band members in McLintock.
wbbison March 20th, 2008, 08:07 AM I take it COA is certificate of authenticity. This could be a letter headed certificate from a company or a hand written/typed bit of paper. There was a dealer selling items allegedly from John Wayne movies such as coffee pots or frying pans from The Horse Soldiers.
If I remember correctly they were all offered with a COA which is basically the seller making a declaration that this item was used, owned ,in the general facinity of the star in question.
Ask seller what is meant by COA and see what he/she says.
Mike
The COA says it is from City of Los Angeles, Global Antiques, Gold Certificate of Autenticity. It is eBay item 320229781494. But I've seen COA's from them and everything is just common everyday items. I don't trust them because I cannot feel the item, if you know what I mean.
wbbison
DukePilgrim March 20th, 2008, 08:25 AM I looked at the the item http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320229781494 and to be honest even if it did have some remote association with John Wayne would you really want it.
Personally, I would want something tangible that you could associate with Duke or his films. I notice his bird house and ashtray were sold not so long ago.
I held my coffee mug to the TV screen whilst a John Wayne movie was on any offers!!!:teeth_smile:
Mike
chester7777 March 20th, 2008, 11:06 AM I don't know about you, but I picture Duke drinking his coffee out of a MUG, not what is pictured in that auction.
And wbbison, I'm with you on the COAs for common, everyday items. How could anyone possibly know it was really John Wayne's, unless it was being auctioned by one of his kids or something like that? At least the cast/crew mugs are clearly marked, and you KNOW they came from one of his movies.
Chester :newyear:
DukePilgrim March 20th, 2008, 02:37 PM Amen No offers for my coffee mug then!!!:wink_smile:
Lt. Brannigan March 20th, 2008, 02:42 PM WAIT!!! I got here to late to make an offer.... I some poor gullible fool who will bid on John Wayne's personal DVD player & Collection, bid ONE BILLION DOLLARS!
SaddleTramp April 1st, 2008, 06:51 PM My 2 cents worth on items on e-bay is fairly simple. If it looks odd,acts odd...well buyer beware. Do what I did with AuctionDepotLA...Google them...They seem to have a good reputation,their feed-back on over 5000 items is 100% so if they were shady it should have shown up somewhere by now.I have bought and sold several items on e-bay(110+) and it doesn't take much to get a bad feed-back if you are trying to pass something off as genuine but isn't.As always,buyer beware...Do your homework and research...You are bound to get stung once in awhile but that's part of the game...Isn't it...The only beef I have with these guys is they won't ship to Canada...SaddleTramp...
DukePilgrim April 2nd, 2008, 07:45 AM Hi Saddle Tramp
I always thought you were US based. You have at least answered one of life's mysteries to me. I often wondered were Saskatchewan was since it was mentioned as the honeymoon destination for Ollie in Me & My Pal:teeth_smile:
Best
Mike
chester7777 April 2nd, 2008, 10:30 PM The only beef I have with these guys is they won't ship to Canada...SaddleTramp...
Hey, if you ever see something you just can't live without, let me know. Maybe we can work something out . . . I'll ship to Canada! :shades_smile:
Chester :newyear:
SaddleTramp April 3rd, 2008, 09:17 AM Thanks Chester. I'll keep that in mind.Usualy if you wait long enough the ducks all line up for you.I finally picked up a "Brannigan" belt buckle after trying for 2 years,now I would like a few of those Cast and Crew coffee mugs but Geeeezzz they are pricey.I feel sorry for those rich folks that can buy what ever they want.They have nothing to hope for like us poor folk do...SaddleTramp...
|
|