Sign In: The Colditz Story.

There are 17 replies in this Thread which has previously been viewed 5,952 times. The latest Post () was by The Ringo Kid.

Participate now!

Don’t have an account yet? Register yourself now and be a part of our community!

• :D Ha ha, I got a good laugh at a painted sign that was shown in The Colditz Story. It was in four languages: Polish, French, English and German.

Im Deutsch:

Es ist Verboten mit Gefangenen in Einzelhaft zu sprechen.

Translation:

It is forbidden to speak to prisoners in solitary confinement.

:D Reminds me of the old days when I used to be a Correctional Officer.

Es Ist Verboten Mit Gefangenen In Einzelhaft Zu Sprechen..

• Hi Carl

The Colditz Story is quite a good film as is the book by Pat Reid. One of our National Newspapers is giving away a series of classic British films and the Colditz Story is among them. If iIremember correctly the Poles were among the best escapers and set the standard for the rest and, like most camps some did (including Reid) manage to escape.

Also in Colditz was Douglas Bader who tried to escape so many times that eventually the Germans took his legs away.

Regards

Arthur

Walk Tall - Talk Low

• Hi Arthur, I too thought that The Colditz Story was a great film. This film had several of my most favorite actors in it: Sir John Mills, Eric Portman, Anton Differing and Theodor Bikel. In fact, I think Theodor Bikel played one og the Polish officers and was very convincing. Anton Differing was a German officer. I thought Eric Portman was great as the British Colonel and ranking POW officer. Sir John Mills also gave a great performance.

This film was true to the real story as The Great Escape was true to Mr. Brickhill's great book.

I have heard much about Sir Douglas Bader. I have much respect for this great flyer and as a person so devoted to duty to his country by continuing his combat flying after losing both his legs.